Get involved in Chicago’s groundbreaking bike plan

By now, you might’ve heard about Chicago’s new Streets for Cycling Plan 2020. In a nutshell, the plan will guide the development of 150-250 miles of innovative bikeways—including protected bike lanes—that will make bicycling a safe and easy option for everyone.

As part of the effort to create the plan, nine community advisory groups have been developed representing each region of the city.

The community advisory groups provide a great way for you to get involved in this exciting process. Local residents know their streets better than anyone else. Share your expertise and experiences by getting involved in this groundbreaking plan for biking in Chicago!

Check the map below to identify your region and then join a community advisory group by contacting one of the leaders.

Saturday is a Streets for Cycling open house in the Loop. Drop by for an hour or two and share your thoughts. And don't forget to sign on to Active Trans' Neighborhood Bikeways campaign.

Community advisory group co-leaders

(1) South Side
 Howard Zar, hzar01@gmail.com
 Jason Duba, jasonduba@gmail.com                                                                                                                                  John Hobson, JHobson@sga-youth.org

(2) Southeast Side
Oboi Reed, ooboir@gmail.com
Derrick James, JamesDe@amtrak.com

(3) Far South Side
Anne Alt, s4c.south@gmail.com
Peter Taylor, s4c.south@gmail.com

(4) Southwest Side
Phil Sipka, psipka@hotmail.com
Demond Drummer, ddrummer@teamworkenglewood.org

(5) Mid-Southwest Side
Jen James, dhin@gmx.net
Raul Gonzalez, raul@workingbikes.org

(6) West Side
Johanna Thompson, jobetterblues@yahoo.com
Steven Lane, thestevenlane@gmail.com

(7) Northwest Side
Alice O'Laughlin, olaughlin.alice@gmail.com
Rick Hunter, rickhan1@comcast.net

(8) North Side
Michelle Stenzel, Michelle@KairiesStenzel.com
Margo O'Hara, mkohara1@gmail.com

(9) Central Area
Bob Aiken, bob@fultonriverdistrict.org
Greg Borzo, gborzo@comcast.net

For general questions or comments about the Streets for Cycling Plan 2020, please contact streetsforcycling2020@gmail.com.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

Copyright © 2014 Active Transportation Alliance | All Rights Reserved | Privacy policy